IPL 2024: Fan Frenzy, Record-Breaking Players, and Anticipated Matches

Published by Adarsh on


Cricket is not just a sport in India; it’s a religion, and the Indian Premier League (IPL) is its most celebrated festival. IPL 2024 is already shaping up to be an epic saga of cricketing prowess, team loyalties, and record-shattering bids. Let’s dive into the world of IPL, exploring the teams with the most fans, the most expensive players, and the much-anticipated first match of IPL 2024.

IPL’s Most Popular Teams: A Fan’s Paradise

In the world of IPL, fan base size is a testament to a team’s success and charisma. Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have been the top contenders for years. CSK, led by the iconic MS Dhoni, has marginally surpassed MI in terms of fan following across top social media sites, boasting 33.5 million followers, while MI has 32.3 million. RCB, despite not winning a title, has excelled in its social media game, jumping from 2.3 million followers in 2019 to 10 million recently, thanks to players like Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers.

IPL 2024 RCB Players

Breaking the Bank: IPL 2023’s Most Expensive Player

Sam Curran, the English all-rounder, made headlines as the most expensive player in IPL history, acquired by Punjab Kings for a whopping Rs. 18.5 crores, surpassing Chris Morris’s previous record. This investment reflects the changing dynamics in player valuations in the IPL.

Historical Perspective: Top 10 Most Expensive IPL Players

The IPL has seen some astronomical bids over the years. Here’s a glance at the top 10 most expensive players in IPL history:

  1. Sam Curran (Punjab Kings, 2023) – INR 18.50 Cr
  2. Cameron Green (Mumbai Indians, 2023) – INR 17.50 Cr
  3. Ben Stokes (Chennai Super Kings, 2023) – INR 16.35 Cr
  4. Chris Morris (Rajasthan Royals, 2021) – INR 16.25 Cr
  5. Nicholas Pooran (Lucknow Super Giants, 2022) – INR 16.00 Cr
  6. Yuvraj Singh (Delhi Daredevils, 2015) – INR 16.00 Cr
  7. Pat Cummins (Kolkata Knight Riders, 2020) – INR 15.50 Cr
  8. Ishan Kishan (Mumbai Indians, 2022) – INR 15.25 Cr
  9. Kyle Jamieson (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2021) – INR 15.00 Cr
  10. Ben Stokes (Rising Pune Supergiant, 2017) – INR 14.50 Cr

The Exciting Kickoff: IPL 2024’s First Match

The IPL 2023 season kicked off with a bang, featuring an exciting showdown between the Gujarat Titans and the Chennai Super Kings on March 31, 2023, at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. It truly set the stage on fire, drawing fans from all corners of the globe who couldn’t wait to catch all the thrilling action.

Now, with the memories of IPL 2023 still fresh in our minds, cricket lovers are already counting down the days to IPL 2024, which promises to be an even more exhilarating experience. The excitement is palpable as teams gear up for the auctions, and die-hard cricket fans eagerly await the announcement of the schedule, hoping for yet another unforgettable season of T20 cricket.

A Season of Big Hits: Total Sixes in IPL 2023

A total of 1,124 sixes were hit in IPL 2023, breaking the record for most sixes in an IPL season. The previous record was set in 2022, when 1,105 sixes were hit.

Here is a breakdown of the sixes by team:

  • Chennai Super Kings: 157
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: 154
  • Gujarat Titans: 150
  • Mumbai Indians: 148
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: 137
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: 122
  • Rajasthan Royals: 119
  • Delhi Capitals: 117
  • Lucknow Super Giants: 115
  • Punjab Kings: 105

The top six hitters of sixes in IPL 2023 were:

  • Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK): 27
  • Nicholas Pooran (SRH): 23
  • Faf du Plessis (CSK): 22
  • Shimron Hetmyer (RR): 21
  • David Miller (GT): 20
  • Rahul Tripathi (SRH): 20

Champions Through the Years: IPL Winners from 2008 to 2023

Let’s take a trip down memory lane and revisit the IPL champions from 2008 to 2023:

  • 2008: Rajasthan Royals
  • 2009: Deccan Chargers
  • 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023: Chennai Super Kings
  • 2012, 2014: Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020: Mumbai Indians
  • 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • 2022: Gujarat Titans


IPL 2024, with its galaxy of stars, colossal fan followings, and record-breaking bids, is all set to add another glorious chapter to its history. As the teams gear up for the epic battles ahead, fans worldwide are counting down the days to witness cricketing history being made. Stay tuned, because IPL 2024 promises to be a season like no other!

Categories: Sports


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *